Chapter 16 - Illinois License Law - Exercise 2

Gap-fill exercise

Fill in all the gaps, then press "Check" to check your answers. Use the "Hint" button to get a free letter if an answer is giving you trouble. You can also click on the "[?]" button to get a clue. Note that you will lose points if you ask for hints or clues! The box below includes a word list for this exercise. Words may be used more than once.
   120      15      18      2      21      24      4      45      6      broker      DFPR      Education      even      GED      high school      Illinois      odd      real estate      residential      sponsoring broker   

Application for a Leasing Agent License

Those persons who wish to engage in leasing residential properties can obtain a limited scope license called a leasing agent license. To obtain this license, a candidate need only be years old and have a degree or a . They must be of good moral character, successfully complete a hour approved leasing agent course and pass the state licensing exam for leasing agents. A leasing agent must work under the supervision of a . A broker can hire an unlicensed person to act as a leasing agent, but must notify the that they have hired an unlicensed person. The unlicensed leasing agent will receive a day permit which will allow the leasing agent to work without a license for consecutive days. During that time they must successfully complete the required hours of approved classes and pass the state exam. If the leasing agent is not licensed within the days, the leasing agent can no longer engage in licensed activities. A leasing agent cannot practice as a permit holder if he has practiced as a permit holder in the previous months.

When hiring an unlicensed leasing agent, the broker must submit the following information to the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation within hours:
1) the name, address and other information required by the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation to identify the permit holder,
2) certification by the permit holder that the applicant has not had a leasing agent license in the past 2 years,
3) certification the permit holder is at least years old,
4) certification that the licensee has a high school degree or a GED,
5) certification that the permit holder is, at the time of application or within the next 90 days, enrolled in a leasing agent course.

Leasing agents may:
1) lease property
2) attempt, offer, or negotiate to lease residential real property
3) supervise the collection, offer, attempt, or agreement to collect rent for the use of
property

Licensed brokers or salespersons do not need a leasing agent license to lease residential property. The leasing agent license is the license that is limited. A leasing agent that obtains a salesperson or broker's license will have his leasing agent license terminated. In Illinois, there is no need to hold duplicate licenses, and in fact, Illinois will not allow someone to hold two different types of real estate licenses.

Leasing agents must take hours of continuing education each year renewal period to renew their license. The courses must be courses relevant to residential leasing approved by the advisory council. Leasing agents renew their license in July of the even numbered years.

___________________________________________________________
PUTTING IT TO WORK
Leasing agents are limited to working with property. The leasing agent license of a leasing agent that moves up to salesperson license category will have their leasing agent license terminated. In Illinois, licensees carry only one category of real estate license.
___________________________________________________________


Application for a Salesperson or Broker License

An applicant for a salesperson or broker license must be at least years old, be of good moral character, and have a degree or a . The minimum age of will be waived for a salesperson applicant who has attained the age of at least and has successfully completed semesters (48 semester hours) of college as a full-time student with a major emphasis on real estate courses. No such age waiver exists for a broker's license. An applicant for a salesperson license is required to successfully complete hours of instruction in real estate courses approved by the Advisory Council and pass the state real estate licensing exam.

An applicant for a license must complete classroom hours, 45 of which were required to obtain a salesperson license. A 15 hour brokerage administration course must be included in the hours. They must pass the state broker licensing exam.

Those licensees with an active salesperson license on December 31, 1999, need only complete an additional 75 hours of approved courses for a total of 105 hours. The reason for this exemption is the previous requirement for salespersons to complete only a 30 hour course. Their 30 initial hours plus the 75 hours as a broker will give them 105 hours, unlike those applicants after December 31, 1999 which are required to take 45 hours of course work to become a salesperson. In other words, the act has made it a presumption that all salesperson licensees have completed a 45 hour course.

All approved course work, except as extended by having a properly issued license, must have been completed within the past 3 years. Salesperson licensees renew their license April 30 of the numbered years and brokers renew their license April 30 of the numbered years.

An attorney currently admitted to practice law before the Supreme Court is exempt from the educational requirements. They must, however, pass either the salesperson exam or the broker's exam to obtain a salesperson or broker's license.

Auction License Act

Illinois requires auctioneers, with certain exceptions, to be licensed by the state. Real estate licensees, when auctioning , are exempt from the Auction License Act.